PHYSICAL distancing NOT SOCIAL distancing! COVID lockdown rant

One thing that’s really pissing me off is the way the media keeps referring to the infection control measures as ‘social distancing’ rather than ‘physical’ as the World Health Organization recommends countries to adopt.

Why I DESTEST the term ‘social distancing’

No, the term ‘social distancing’ has lots of negative implications which is why the WHO recommends the alternative parlance ‘physical distancing’. It makes England seem even more distant than ever before. The term ‘social distancing’ implies being anti-social, ‘distant’, aloof, away from everyone else, in your bubble making the already existing anti-social vibes in countries like the UK even worse.

Why I prefer the term ‘physical distancing’

I prefer the term ‘physical distancing’ because it’s just that, physical and avoiding risk of infection but still being able to be social. It also implies able to keep in contact, able to talk to friends, able to have a natter out the window or from the street keeping that 2 meters apart (UK).

Lots of people no doubt feel the same way too

The odd kind comment on passing people in the street dipping into driveays alcoves, crossing the street, walking in the verge, walking in the roadway saying ‘nothing personal’ are obviously feeling the same way.

Arrogant British media; a message and polite request

Stop using the term ‘social distancing’! If I here the term ‘social distancing’ one more time, I swear I’ll throw the tv out the window! Look CALL IT PHYSICAL DISTANCING you fucking out of touch, posh twats who’re not representative of the British public (that’s the truth, they’re not).

Yes this blog is is about social anxiety and loneliness, not politics or media.

That’s enough for now

I’m sick to fucking death of the media referring to the infection control measures as ‘social distancing’. I HATE that term! Every time I here it I really want THROW A HAMMER at the TV. Sure loads of people don’t want to ever here that term again as soon as other ways of controlling this virus become more effective and when we’re out of it.

Leave a comment